Florida Reckless Driving Charge?
Get a Free Legal Consultation on a Criminal Reckless Driving Citation in FL
Under Florida law, reckless driving is a criminal traffic citation that is far more serious than a simple traffic ticket. If charged and convicted of a criminal driving offense you could be facing jail time or loss of your driver’s license. Even just the risk of losing your driver’s license can be detrimental to your life and your livelihood.
We understand this, and fight to help you keep your license and keep your record clean. There are a number of possible defenses to this charge that we can explore.
There are several ways to be charged with reckless driving and you may not have even known you were breaking the law before you got pulled over. Or, you may have been in a rush or let the stress of commuter traffic control your driving. Either way, if you are innocent of the charge, or made a mistake, we can help.
As experienced criminal traffic and reckless driving defense lawyers in Florida, we have handled many cases just like this and know what kind of penalties you are facing. We also know how to get you the best possible results on your day in court.
The risks of going it alone are significant, so call us for a free consultation on a Florida reckless driving offense, to find out what we can do to help.(877) 394-6959
Florida Reckless Driving Laws Penalties
You may be charged with reckless driving if there is probable cause that you drove with willful or wanton disregard for the safety of people or property. If this is your first reckless driving offense you will face up to 90 days in jail and fines of $25-$500.
If, however, this is your second or subsequent reckless driving charge you will face up to 6 months in jail and fines of $50-$1,000.
Reckless Driving with Property Damage or Injury
The potential penalty increases if there was damage or injury caused by your reckless driving.
If the driving results in damage to property you will face 1 st degree misdemeanor charges with a potential sentence of up to 1 year in jail and fines up to $1,000.
If the reckless driving results in serious bodily injury of another person, however, you will face 3 rd degree felony charges which carry a potential sentence of 15 years in prison and $10,000.
A reckless driving conviction will also add 4 points to your Florida DMV record.
If you are found guilty of 3 reckless driving offenses within a year you could lose your license permanently.
Offenses like this can also affect your insurance rates. Your insurance agent will find out about your charge either immediately or when it is time for you to renew your policy. This can cause an increase in insurance rates or even cause you to have a hard time finding insurance.
Free Consultation on How to Fight Your Reckless Driving Charge
Any criminal record, even for a driving offense, can be far reaching. A record will show up on a background check, and you could have to answer Yes on a job application that asks Have you ever been convicted of a crime?
It makes sense to look for every opportunity to avoid a permanent criminal record. And these cases can be beaten. The terms “willful or wanton disregard” are subjective and vague and can be applied to many situations.
Was your driving really bad enough to be considered reckless? We can argue that the police officer may have been mistaken, or not certain enough for you to be guilty beyond a reasonable doubt.
The only way to know for sure what your outcome may be in court is to consult with an experienced attorney who has fought these cases before. Whether you are facing reckless driving charges or a DUI, an experienced defense attorney is not only a good idea, it is necessary.
Call us for a consultation on your reckless driving charge or any other criminal charges you might be up against in the state of Florida.
We are here to listen to your side of the story and fight for your rights and defend your freedom in the Florida criminal courts. Call for a consultation on your Florida criminal traffic case today. (877) 394-6959
Free Legal Consultation
Contact an attorney for a free legal case evaluation on any criminal charge by calling: